My Pink Headboard

Dear Future Husband,

Yesterday I painted my queen-sized headboard pink. It’s my first headboard and it’s a hand-me-down. So it needed some work. I went to the store for chalkpaint fully planning on getting a nice neutral color (neutral colors are hard for me), but once I saw all my options, well…I couldn’t help myself. Scandinavian Pink it was. 

I’m writing this because, well, I honestly was thinking about you. Would my future husband be ok with a pink headboard? Shouldn’t I get a neutral color? The ladies helping me pick the color thought so. But I’m at a point right now that I’m tired of holding back because I want to get married one day. 

I’m going to do all the things I want to do, even though I’m single. I know I’m not going off getting artificially inseminated because “I don’t need no man”….  And maybe I’m late. And having a pink headboard isn’t a big deal. But for me it is. 

It’s a choice I made for me. Not for my family. Not for people’s expectations. Not for you. 

And I figured you’re a feminist enough that you’ll be ok with pink. 

One thought on “My Pink Headboard

  1. Paint it pink. And love it. Every single moment. I think there is such beauty, grace, and even love, to be found in the midst of singleness. I wish I had reminded myself of that more often before getting married…because a husband doesn’t complete you or make you whole, he doesn’t make you any less you (your pink headboard loving self and all)…and I am sure that when you tell him just why you painted it pink he will totally get it. And appreciate it even.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

