My Intentions

I will begin this blog with my intentions.

With this blog, I would like to share my story as an undocumented immigrant in the USA. My goal is to normalize Latinos and immigrants, to humanize us enough. If you know anything about being undocumented, you know that admitting your undocumented status has been equalled to “coming out.” So please know that my admitting to this in a public setting is difficult. I am not brave like these Dreamers who hold rallies and sit-ins. I am not like our parents, who think keeping our heads down and not drawing attention to ourselves will save us, either. I am in-between: careful, motivated, and awake.

And I will admit that I am currently comfortable. Barack Obama made comfort possible for people like me who were eligible to receive DACA (Thanks, Obama!). But my comfort will not silence me. The rise of Donald Trump’s political career forces me to speak. I don’t worry that he believes what he believes or even that he so blatantly declares those beliefs. I worry that so many agree with him.

But I’m a believer of stories. Stories taught me the difference between the Sunnis and the Shiites. Stories taught me about the French Revolution. I’m also a believer of personal connection. Only through knowing someone as an individual do we begin to humanize a people.

This is where I come in. I will tell you my story. I will share of myself. My experience and my skills set make it possible for me to do so through such a medium. All I ask is that you listen. And we’ll both let the stories do their work.

Leave a Reply

